Yo Gabba Gabba!

September

A friend of mine just introduced me to a new kids TV show that started running in August on Nick Jr. called Yo Gabba Gabba!

Yo Gabba Gabba! is hosted by a character named DJ Lance Rock, and five toy monsters: Brobee, Foofa, Muno, Plex, and Toodee. It features characters named The MC Bat Commander, Ricky Fitness, and Muno the Cyclops. Just look at these guys! If they don’t look like a fun group to you then you must be dead.

Yo Gabba GabbaFrom the few clips I’ve seen on YouTube I’m entranced. The characters are fun, the sets are vibrant, and the music is a mix of current hip-hop and alternative bands. Like any good kids show, Yo Gabba Gabba! is fun for both me and my kids.

Overall, the bold colors, character design and clean and simple sets give the show a great sense of style that makes it stand out from other kids shows I’ve watched (I have two boys under the age of 6, so it’s safe to say I’ve seen my share).

So why am I even writing about Yo Gabba Gabba! on this blog?

Inspiration is everywhere. It doesn’t matter if it’s a children’s TV show, an old poster clinging to a telephone pole, or a well designed kitchen tool, it’s all fodder that helps us keep creatively diverse and sharp. Anything can be the next nugget of inspiration to be logged in our FLIR brains.

The interesting thing from our perspective is how Yo Gabba Gabba! might influence our own work. It might not be in the ways you would initially expect (bright colors, trendy design, etc.). Before you execute a look & feel like Yo Gabba Gabba’s there first has to be singular purpose or foundation. In addition to the cool look & feel/use of music/original characters, it’s that core idea of communicating differently to kids using a completely fresh visual language that inspires us.

One Response to “Yo Gabba Gabba!”

  1. Valentina Says:

    Hola me llamo Valentina Renata tengo 5 años y me encanta yo gabba gabba el personaje q mas me gusta es foofa y me gustaria q este programa” yo gabba gabba ” de mas horarios xq me encanta chau


Leave a comment